Reviews

Review: I Want to Be Where the Normal People Are by Rachel Bloom

I received an e-arc of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. This did not affect my opinion of the book in any way.

Publisher: Coronet

Published: November 2020

Pages: 256

Summary

 

In the vein of Mindy Kaling, Ali Wong, and Amy Poehler, a collection of hilarious personal essays, poems and even amusement park maps on the subjects of insecurity, fame, anxiety, and much more from the charming and wickedly funny creator of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend.

Rachel Bloom has felt abnormal and out of place her whole life. In this exploration of what she thinks makes her “different”, she’s come to realize that a lot of people also feel this way; even people who she otherwise thought were “normal”.

In a collection of laugh-out-loud funny essays, all told in the unique voice (sometimes singing voice) that made her a star, Rachel writes about everything from her love of Disney, OCD and depression, weirdness, and female friendships to the story of how she didn’t poop in the toilet until she was four years old. Rachel’s pieces are hilarious, smart and infinitely relatable (except for the pooping thing).

My Thoughts…

Little-Mermaid-inspired title? ✅

Gorgeous cover, with an 80s/90s teen book vibe? ✅

Rachel Bloom, aka the amazingly talented creator of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend? ✅

Was there every chance I would love this book? YOU KNOW IT!

I love the show Crazy Ex-Girlfriend (and am, coincidentally, just in the middle of a big re-watch) so I was extremely excited to read a collection of essays by Rachel Bloom. My expectations were sky-high with this one, and I was not disappointed.

Through her distinctive style and using her original voice to the fullest, Rachel Bloom takes us on a journey to explore the concept of “normality” in a quest to find the oh-so-elusive “normal people”. This was certainly one of the most original, amusing and refreshing books I’ve read in a while, and it managed to touch on hard topics such as bullying, OCD and depression, and so many more in an incredibly honest and heartfelt way.

Some essays resonated with me more than others, and some were definitely… something; some made me laugh out loud, some really moved me, but all of them showcased Rachel’s incredible talent and her honesty in talking openly about topics that are often, sadly, still taboo.

Overall, this is a great book that will appeal to fans of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend and those who haven’t yet seen the show alike (though if you’re in the latter category – what are you waiting for??). Highly recommended!

 

Rating: 4.5/5

butterfly-896668_960_720.pngbutterfly-896668_960_720.pngbutterfly-896668_960_720.pngbutterfly-896668_960_720.png

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s